La Candela Musikagentur GmbH

Concerts, Booking & Production

TOO MANY ZOOZ

TOO MANY ZOOZ

On Tour

TOO MANY ZOOZ (USA)

TOO MANY ZOOZ

Latest album: ‘Subway Gawdz’ (2016)

Many New Yorkers discovered the Brasshouse sensation TOO MANY ZOOZ at the Union Square subway station, where the trio started busking in 2014. After a video of their performance went viral on Reddit and Youtube, the band’s digital downloads and CD sales skyrocketed. But TOO MANY ZOOZ have not only taken fans’ hearts but also those of superstars like Questlove and Beyoncé by storm. New Yorks hottest export hit is currently touring the international stages and festivals with their latest album ‘Subway Gawdz’ (2016).

After recording a few melodies for Beyoncé‘s Grammy-winning album ‘Lemonade’, TOO MANY ZOOZ created an international stir when they collaborated with the famous singer at the 2016 Country Music Awards. While saxophone player Leo Pellegrino played a celebrated solo and thrilled the audience with his dance moves, Matt Doe on the trumpet and King of Sludge on the drums formed the backline that perfectly accentuated the blaring horns.

TOO MANY ZOOZ’s music, dubbed ‘Brasshouse’ by drummer King of Sludge, is an irresistible mixture of many different genres. As heard on their EPs F NOTE, Fanimals, Brasshouse Volume 1: Survival of the Flyest, the Internet and the LP Subway Gawdz, the group merges jazz, funk, brass, dub and techno into an energetic instrumental sound.

‘We pride ourselves that nearly every person of every color, creed and background and upbringing can find something in our music to relate to. Someone from Cuba can say ‘I hear Cuban music in the cowbells.’ Someone into death metal will enjoy it next to a grandmother who hears it as old swing music. Others hear Klezmer. Whatever people want to hear in our music they can seemingly find it.’ - Matt Doe

The band was formed when King of Sludge and Pellegrino played together in an earlier subway busking band, the Drumadics. Fellow Manhattan School of Music classmate Doe played in various ensembles with Pellegrino, the threesome eventually busking together by chance and their chemistry sparking an instant bond.

After their tour 2017 TOO MANY ZOOZ will return to their roots with a rawer sound on their new EP. Even if the three guys regularly rock the stages around the world with their spectacular sound, from time to time you can still find them in the world’s largest night club: The New York City subway system.

Press commentaries

THIS is how The Roots got their start.’ – Questlove (The Roots)

‘The hottest thing in NYC music’ – New York Post

‘The rapturous sound heard during the performance can be attributed to TOO MANY ZOOZ, the performance’s electrifying and vivacious backing band.’ – Billboard.com about the CMAs performance

Line-Up

Matt Doe – trumpet
Leo P – baritone saxophone
King of Sludge – drums/percussion

Booking
Territory:

Germany, Austria, East Europe

Period:

Summerfestivals 2017

Dates
04.08.2017 Isny (D) Theaterfestival Ticket
05.08.2017 Eching (D) Brasswiesn Ticket
06.08.2017 Aachen (D) Across the Borders
07.08.2017 Köln (D) Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld Ticket
08.08.2017 Berlin (D) Quasimodo Ticket
09.08.2017 Kassel (D) Documenta 2017 @ Weinkirche Ticket

La Candela
Musikagentur GmbH

Sömmeringstr. 75, 50823 Cologne, Germany

Phone +49 221 39 90 98-0
Fax +49 221 39 90 98-10

La Candela online

Find us on Facebook
Find us on Twitter

La Candela
Musikagentur GmbH

GF: Reinhard Allgaier
HRB 68741
Amtsgericht Köln
Sömmeringstr. 75
D-50823 Köln

Telefon +49 221 39 90 98-0
Fax +49 221 39 90 98-10

E-Mail: info (a) lacandela.de

Ust.-ID-Nr. DE 247652016

Developement:
Büro für kreative Zusammenarbeit

Frontend-Developement:
Maik Derek

Backend-Developement:
Florian Garding

We make every effort to keep the information on our Web site current, but accept no liability whatsoever for the content provided. Pursuant to §7 par. 1 of TMG (German Tele-Media Act), the law limits our responsibility as a service provider to our own content on these Web pages.
According to §§8 to 10 of TMG, we are not obligated to monitor third party information provided or stored on our Web site. However, we shall promptly remove any content upon becoming aware that it violates the law. Our liability in such an instance shall commence at the time we become aware of the respective violation.

Our site contains links to third-party Web sites. We have no influence whatsoever on the information on these Web sites and accept no guaranty for its correctness. The content of such third-party sites is the responsibility of the respective owners/providers.
At the time third-party Web sites were linked to ours, we found NO GROUNDS WHATSOEVER of any likely contravention of the law. We shall promptly delete a link upon becoming aware that it violates the law.

This website uses Google Analytics, a web analysis service of the Google Inc Google Analytics uses so-called Cookies, text files which are stored on your computer and which allows an analysis of the use of the website by you. The information generated by the Cookie about your use of this website (including your IP address) is transferred to a server by Google in the USA and is stored there. Google will use this information to evaluate your use of the website in order to put together a report about the website activities for the website operators and to produce linked services with the website use and the Internet use. Also Google will transfer this information if necessary to third parties, provided that this legally prescribed or as far as third parties process these data on behalf of Google. Google will associate in no circumstances your IP address with the other data which are stored by Google. They can prevent the installation of the Cookies by a suitable setting of your browsers software; we point out to you, nevertheless, to the fact that you cannot use all functions of this website in this case if necessary fully extensively. By the use of this website you agree with the treatment of the data upraised about you by Google in the before described way and for the before named purpose.

La Candela Musikagentur GmbH

Concerts, Booking & Production

TOO MANY ZOOZ

TOO MANY ZOOZ

On Tour

TOO MANY ZOOZ (USA)

TOO MANY ZOOZ

Aktuelles Album: „Subway Gawdz“ (2016)

Viele New Yorker entdeckten die Brasshouse-Sensation TOO MANY ZOOZ in der Union Square U-Bahn-Station, wo das Trio 2014 anfing Straßenmusik zu machen. Nachdem eines der von Passanten gefilmten Videos zum viralen Hit auf Reddit und Youtube wurde, gingen die Verkaufszahlen sowohl bei digitalen Downloads als auch bei ihren CDs durch die Decke. So spielten sich TOO MANY ZOOZ nicht nur in die Herzen zahlreicher Fans, sondern auch auf die Agenda von Weltstars wie Questlove und Beyoncé. 2017 ist New Yorks heißester Exportschlager mit dem aktuellen Album „Subway Gawdz“ (2016) im Gepäck auf Tour.

Nachdem TOO MANY ZOOZ einige Spuren für das mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnete Beyoncé-Album „Lemonade“ eingespielt haben, erregten sie auch bei deren umjubelter Country Music Awards-Performance 2016 internationales Aufsehen. Während Saxofonist Leo Pellegrino ein umjubeltes Solo hinlegte und mit Beyoncé über die Bühne tanzte, untermalten Trompeter Matt Doe und Drummer King of Sludge als Backline die schmetternden Blashörner.

TOO MANY ZOOZs Musik, von Drummer King of Sludge “Brasshouse” getauft, ist eine unwiderstehliche Mischung verschiedenster Musikrichtungen. Wie auf den EPs F NOTE, Fanimals, Brasshouse Volume 1: Survival of the Flyest, the Internet und der LP Subway Gawdz zu hören ist, vermischt die Gruppe Jazz, Funk, Brass, Dub und Techno zu einem energetischen, instrumentellen Sound.

„Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dass fast jeder, unabhängig von Hautfarbe und Herkunft, sich mit unserer Musik identifizieren kann. Jemand aus Kuba kann sagen: ‚Ich höre kubanische Musik in den Herdenglocken‘. Ein Death-Metal Fan kann den Song zusammen mit seiner Großmutter hören, die darin alte Swing-Musik wiedererkennt. […] Was auch immer die Leute hören wollen, scheinen sie in unserer Musik zu finden.“ – Matt Doe

TOO MANY ZOOZs Anfänge gehen auf die frühere U-Bahn-Band Drumatics zurück, in der King of Sludge und Leo Pellegrino gemeinsam gespielt haben. Doe, Klassenkamerad Pellegrinos an der Manhattan School Of Music, spielte in verschiedenen Ensembles mit Pellegrino zusammen. Das Trio machte eines Tages zufällig zusammen Musik und durch ihre Chemie entstand eine sofortige musikalische Verbindung.

Nach ihrer Tour kehren sie dann bald mit einem roheren Sound auf ihrer neuen EP zu ihren Wurzeln zurück. Auch wenn die drei New Yorker mit ihrem spektakulären Sound längst die internationalen Festivalbühnen erobern, sind sie doch von Zeit zu Zeit immer noch im größten Nachtclub der Welt anzutreffen, dem New Yorker U-Bahn-System.

Pressestimmen

„SO haben auch The Roots angefangen.“ – Questlove (The Roots)

„Das heißeste Teil der New Yorker Musikszene.“ – New York Post

„Die Band brachte ihren einzigartigen Sound-Mix aus Jazz, Funk, Brass, Dub und Techno – den die drei Jungs selbst als ‚Brasshouse‘ bezeichnen – jetzt erstmals nach Köln und sorgten damit für ein akustisches Feuerwerk auf der Bühne.“ – Kölnische Rundschau über die ausverkaufte Deutschland-Premiere im Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld

„Der leidenschaftliche Sound der Performance war auf TOO MANY ZOOZ, die elektrisierende und temperamentvolle Begleitband, zurückzuführen.“ – Billboard.com über den CMAs-Auftritt

Besetzung

Matt Doe – Trompete
Leo P – Bariton Saxophon
King of Sludge – Drums/Percussion

Booking
Territory:

Deutschland, Österreich, Osteuropa

Period:

Sommerfestivals 2017

Termine
04.08.2017 Isny (D) Theaterfestival Ticket
05.08.2017 Eching (D) Brasswiesn Ticket
06.08.2017 Aachen (D) Across the Borders
07.08.2017 Köln (D) Club Bahnhof Ehrenfeld Ticket
08.08.2017 Berlin (D) Frannz Club Ticket
09.08.2017 Kassel (D) A.R.M. Club Hoffest
Links

La Candela
Musikagentur GmbH

Sömmeringstr. 75, D-50823 Köln

Fon +49 221 39 90 98-0
Fax +49 221 39 90 98-10

La Candela im Netz

Finde uns bei Facebook
Finde uns bei Twitter

La Candela
Musikagentur GmbH

GF: Reinhard Allgaier
HRB 68741
Amtsgericht Köln
Sömmeringstr. 75
D-50823 Köln

Telefon +49 221 39 90 98-0
Fax +49 221 39 90 98-10

E-Mail: info (a) lacandela.de

Ust.-ID-Nr. DE 247652016

Umsetzung:
Büro für kreative Zusammenarbeit

Frontend-Developement:
Maik Derek

Backend-Developement:
Florian Garding

Wir betonen ausdrücklich, dass wir, unsere Mitarbeiter bzw. andere an lacandela.de beteiligte Personen keinerlei Einfluss auf die Gestaltung und die Inhalte evtl. gelinkter Seiten haben. Deshalb distanzieren wir uns hiermit ausdrücklich von allen Inhalten aller gelinkten Seiten auf lacandela.de und machen uns ihre Inhalte nicht zu eigen.

Diese Website benutzt Google Analytics, einen Webanalysedienst der Google Inc. Google Analytics verwendet sog. Cookies, Textdateien, die auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert werden und die eine Analyse der Benutzung der Website durch Sie ermöglicht. Die durch den Cookie erzeugten Informationen über Ihre Benutzung dieser Website (einschließlich Ihrer IP-Adresse) wird an einen Server von Google in den USA übertragen und dort gespeichert. Google wird diese Informationen benutzen, um Ihre Nutzung der Website auszuwerten, um Reports über die Websiteaktivitäten für die Websitebetreiber zusammenzustellen und um weitere mit der Websitenutzung und der Internetnutzung verbundene Dienst- leistungen zu erbringen. Auch wird Google diese Informationen gegebenenfalls an Dritte übertragen, sofern dies gesetzlich vorgeschrieben oder soweit Dritte diese Daten im Auftrag von Google verarbeiten. Google wird in keinem Fall Ihre IP-Adresse mit anderen Daten, die von Google gespeichert werden, in Verbindung bringen. Sie können die Installation der Cookies durch eine entsprechende Einstellung Ihrer Browser Software verhindern; wir weisen Sie jedoch darauf hin, dass Sie in diesem Fall gegebenenfalls nicht sämtliche Funktionen dieser Website voll umfänglich nutzen können. Durch die Nutzung dieser Website erklären Sie sich mit der Bearbeitung der über Sie erhobenen Daten durch Google in der zuvor beschriebenen Art und Weise und zu dem zuvor benannten Zweck einverstanden.